The battle for the lead of Rally Finland continued between Ken Torn and Emil Bergkvist today. The pairing claimed four fastest stage times a piece, but its Torn who remains at the top of the time sheets going into tomorrow’s closing stages.

The morning would prove a difficult one for Terry Folb who hit a rock and picked up a puncture which dropped him out of third place and behind Jean-Baptiste Franceschi on SS12.

Folb then had to endure more misfortune when his Fiesta cut out on the very next speed test (SS13) – forcing him to retire for the day.

But the Frenchman wasn’t the only one to suffer – Luca Bottarelli rolling his Fiesta out of sixth place on SS15 and Dave Holder picking up one too many punctures which forced him into retirement on SS17.

On SS18 Torn also picked up a puncture in the final kilometers – allowing Bergkvist to capitalize and close the gap to just 11 seconds. The Estonian fought back through the final stage of the day (SS19), and holds a 12.7 second advantage ahead of tomorrow’s finale.

Ken Torn (1st) said:

“Today has been really hard on the car and the tyres, but tomorrow I will try and fight with Emil.”

Emil Bergkvist (2nd) said:

“We lost some time to Ken but then he got a puncture – so the fight is still alive!”

Jean-Baptiste Franceschi (3rd) said:

“We managed to stay on the road and deliver a careful drive. We are really happy to be in third place – it’s a good result and we must stay in this position tomorrow.”



1. Ken Torn / Kuldar Sikk 2:37:16.4
2. Emil Bergkvist / Joakim Sjöberg +12.7
3. Jean-Baptiste Franceschi / Romain Courbon +1:36.1
4. Julius Tannert / Jürgen Heigl +3:32.9
5. Callum Devine / Brian Hoy +5:50.0
6. Tom Williams / Phil Hall +8:54.9
7. Bugra Banaz / Burak Erdener +10:24.0
8. Enrico Oldrati / Danilo Fappani +15:32.3
9. David Holder / Jason Farmer +21:44.7
10. Umberto Accornero / Barone Maurizio +23:31.8
11. Luca Bottarelli / Manuel Fenoli +39:14.0
12. Terry Folb / Kevin Bronner +49:54.5
13. Emilio Fernández / Joaquin Riquelme +1:24:57.6